Review – Pattern Emporium Ladies Gathered Skirt PDF pattern

Over the past two weeks I have managed to make a bit of a small dent in my vintage linen fabric collection thanks to a PDF pattern from Pattern Emporium.

vintage linen fabric

The pattern I purchased is the PE1301 PDF Pattern: Ladies Gathered Flat Front Elastic Back Skirt. It provides directions for 3 lengths of skirt and additional tutorials for contrasting hems, ruffled hems and 3 styles of pocket.

It is designed by Kate, owner/designer/pattern maker at Pattern Emporium and handmade label Indigo Magenta. She has an extensive history in fashion design and has a great eye for detail and workmanship.

So, onto reviewing this pattern.

This was my first time using a PDF pattern, despite years and years of sewing experience.

The hardest part was measuring myself and working out which size to make. I ended up making one skirt using the instructions for “make your own size” according to my measurements and two more skirts using the standard sizing chart.

sewing awaits

The pattern was quite easy to draft out. My best tips would be to buy a roll of butchers paper (I bought a cheap roll from Kmart) and a 1m ruler (which I bought at Officeworks). These tools will make drafting your pattern much easier!

Sewing skill – I have a reasonable deal of experience sewing. I have been sewing for 18 years and have made everything from cushion covers and curtains to fully boned satin evening gowns. That being said, there are still lots of things I haven’t done (or haven’t done very well) in the world of sewing.

sewing

This pattern is explained in very clear, easy to understand language and doesn’t really have any assumed knowledge so I am confident anyone from beginner to expert would be able to follow it and achieve a great result. This is a great achievement as many paper patterns from the larger pattern companies can be difficult to follow, even for an experienced sewer like myself.

The use of clear diagrams and photos adds to the ease of use of this pattern. I did not make any mistakes or need to unpick at any time as I read and followed the pattern carefully, particularly as Kate uses some fantastic tricks and methods in the construction of the skirt that could be an area of stuff-up if not followed closely (the method of the waistband is genius! Just sayin’).

The first skirt I made with this pattern was just the plain version using my own measurements at mini length, which on me came to my knees as I am on the short side.

ladies gathered skirt short

The second skirt was also mini length but used the standard sizing chart provided. I also added the curved side pockets to this skirt using the attached additional tutorial. It was my first time making pockets like this (I have previously only sewn patch pockets) and I found the instructions clear and concise.

ladies gathered skirt short

The third skirt was also using the standard sizing chart and had curved side pockets. However, I extended the length of the pattern to create a maxi length. On me (with my shortish legs) this length was about 10cm longer than the midi length – the longest length provided in the pattern.

ladies gathered skirt maxi ladies gathered skirt maxi

One of the great things about using Pattern Emporium patterns is that Kate has set up a Facebook group where you can ask questions and get help with anything you are having trouble with. I found this very useful when working out the best size to use. You can also share photos of your finished work in the group which is a great little pride booster and also gives insight into how others put pattern and colour together. Group members are also privy to discount codes on the release of new patterns – an added bonus!

sewing floral fabric

Overall I absolutely LOVE this pattern! The fit is easy and comfortable with the elastic back allowing for the natural fluctuations in sizing that occurs with childbearing and enjoying large meals (I will be wearing these skirts at Christmas lunches and dinners!). It is quick and easy to sew, and even though I have only made it in vintage fabric I have a large pile of bold prints ready to go for my next batch of sewing.

I have a strong feeling these skirts will become my summer wardrobe staple, teamed with plain coloured tank tops and my new tan sandals. The style is flattering and cool, making them perfect for days by the beach or dinners or special events. All you need is the right accessories to dress it up or down.

If you would like to buy this pattern and give it a go yourself click here.

Find Pattern Emporium on Facebook here. You can find the link to the Facebook group on the business page.

*This review is in no way sponsored or commissioned by Kate or Pattern Emporium. I just love it and wanted to share the goodness!*

Leave a Reply

