Vintage Love – a treasure trove of vintage fashion

There are a lot of “if only” moments in life.

I find that now with Pinterest, Facebook, and collective handmade marketplaces like madeit.com I am muttering those two little words more and more.

If only Pinterest was around when I was planning our wedding!

If only I had found that page when I had my first child!

If only I had money to splurge on that amazing piece of awesomeness!

But there is one thing I have found in all my internet endeavours and “research” (aka browsing in online shops) that makes me utter this phrase more than the rest…vintage.

When I was a young girl growing up and began my love of vintage, there was only one way to access the treasures: go into the city and shop in the little vintage boutique at The Rocks in Sydney. This little shop was a treasure trove of vintage fashion, shoes and accessories and didn’t have that air of stuffiness that many antique shops have.

It was here that I made my first vintage purchase. A pair of 1950s velvet shoes.

IMG_3422

IMG_3429

IMG_3430

IMG_3431

IMG_3434

OH. MY. GOODNESS.

It was love at first sight! I feel glamorous every time I wear them. It’s then that those little words pop into my consciousness… If only I was born in a different era – then I’d get to wear shoes and gorgeous fashion like this all the time! 

And I love thinking about the life stories of the woman/women who have worn them before me.

That’s the beauty of vintage. Each piece has its own story.

Nowadays, instead of visiting vintage boutiques on rare occasions I get my daily dose of the treasure trove online through some of the Facebook pages and etsy shops I like to stalk…*ahem* I mean, browse. Shops from all over the world.

Here is a little meander through some of my favourites:

Xtabay Vintage Cothing Boutique | Xtabay Vintage Bridal Salon

Facebook page here.

50s Party Dress // Vintage 1950s Emerald Green Silk Satin Fit and Flare Dress by Gamine Size S

50s Party Dress // Vintage 1950s Emerald Green Silk Satin Fit and Flare Dress by Gamine

1950s Ceil Chapman // Vintage 1950s Coral Strapless Tulle Evening Gown by Ceil Chapman Size XS

1950s Ceil Chapman // Vintage 1950s Coral Strapless Tulle Evening Gown by Ceil Chapman

Bitter Root Vintage

Facebook page here.

bitter root1

Vintage 1950’s pale daffodil silk organza party dress

bitter root 3

Vintage 1960’s nubby aubergine dress & coat

bitter root 2

Vintage 1940’s two-piece beaded bodice peak-a-boo dress

Drowning in Decadence

Facebook page here.

DID

Drowning in Decadence

Drowning in Decadence

Drowning in Decadence

Coco and Benny Vintage

Facebook page here.

coco and benny

Late 60’s – early 70’s silver metallic lace shift dress

Raleigh Vintage

Facebook page here.

Vintage 1950s Skirt : 50s 60s Floral Cotton Full Skirt

Vintage 1950s Skirt : 50s 60s Floral Cotton Full Skirt

Vintage 1950s Dress : 50s Prom Wedding Dress

Vintage 1950s Dress : 50s Prom Wedding Dress

Vintage 1960s Dress : 50s 60s Blue Floral Party Dress

Vintage 1960s Dress : 50s 60s Blue Floral Party Dress

And if you want to find more vintage shops, there’s this wonderful directory:

Vintage Shops Australia

Facebook page here.

vintage shops

Photo courtesy of Vintage Shops Australia

See?! If only…

One thought on “Vintage Love – a treasure trove of vintage fashion

Leave a Reply

